Manuscript Letter, Signed by Charles Darwin with the Letter in the Hand of Emma Darwin
DARWIN, Charles. Autograph Letter Signed. Beckenhaw , 1870.
Autograph letter in Darwin's wife, Emma Darwin's hand, and signed by Charles Darwin. This letter was written to publisher Alexander Stuart Stahan in support of George Cupples, as the request of Cupples wife, who was attempting to secure a government pension for George.

"Beckenhaw | Nov 29 1870 | Dear Sir | I have been informed | that an application is to |be made to government for | a pension for Mr. Cupples. | Although I am not personally | acquainted with the gentleman, | I have corresponded with him | on scientific subjects during | several years. | On some very intricate points | he has been so kind as not | only to collect, at the cost of | much trouble, information from | various sources, but had like- | wise made for me valuable | observations | Therefore he has | my sincere good wishes for his | success. I have confined myself |to the above points relating | to Science, as I consider | Literature beyond my | province. | I beg leave to remain | yours faithfully | Charles Darwin"

Letter is 2 1/2 pages of manuscript, on a folded octavo letterhead sheet. Sheet measures (8 x 10 inches; 202 x 252 mm). Printed letterhead reads "Down/Bromley/Kent. S.C." bit the "Bromley" has been crossed off with the tail of the word "Beckenhaw." With expected fold lines and some mild toning. Blank "4th" page with evidence that it was once affixed to something and since pulled out, leaving some glue stains and paper remnants. An excellent letter.

Although the two men were not well acquainted, as the letter states, Cupples and Darwin had "corresponded on scientific subjects during several years." The Cupples had given Darwin a deer-hound puppy not long before this present correspondence. The following year, Darwin referenced Cupples findings on the breed in The Descent of Man.

"In November, [Darwin] received a permanent guest in the form of a Scottish deerhound puppy, the pride and joy of George Cupples, who had written to Darwin regularly over the course of the year to apprise him of the dog’s progress and fine breeding: ‘the father is descended from Sir Walter Scott’s celebrated “Maida”’ (letter from George Cupples, 17 September 1870). Darwin reassured Cupples after the dog arrived, ‘Bran is thriving & growing at a wonderful rate – coat sleek, & not too fat. Plays much with Polly & enjoys English life’ (postcard to George Cupples, 27 November [1870])." (From the Darwin Project).

HBS # 67895 $6,000